Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Our Board

Collectively, our Directors hold experience developed during successful careers in shipping, logistics, transport and management in New Zealand and abroad and have extensive experience at both executive and board levels. Meet our board:

​​​​POAL-Extras-June2022-101-3.jpg​​​​​Jan Dawson, CNZM, BCom, FCA (CAANZ), CFInstD  Chair

Jan Dawson was appointed as a Director and Chair in September 2021.

Jan is a highly experienced  Director and Chair, whose previous roles include Chair of Westpac New Zealand Limited and Deputy Chair of Air New Zealand Limited.  She is currently a director of Serko Limited. Jan was the Chair and Chief Executive for KPMG New Zealand for five years until 2011, following a career spanning 30 years specialising in audit, consulting and accounting services in the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. Her previous board appointments also include AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited, Beca Limited, Goodman Fielder Limited and Meridian Energy Limited. She was elected as a Vice President of World Sailing for the four years ending in November 2020 and was the President and Board Chair of Yachting New Zealand for six years until October 2013.

​​Peter Chrisp, BA, MA  Director 

Peter is the Chief Executive of  New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, New Zealand’s international business development agency. Prior to this, Peter spent 20 years in the engineering, manufacturing, and pulp and paper industries. Peter has international experience as Senior Vice President Norske Skog Global, based in Norway, and Australasian Regional President based in Sydney. Peter is a member of the Food and Fibre Partnership Group, a member of Te Puna Whakaaronui  (a New Zealand food and fibre think tank), a member of the New Zealand China Council, and was previously the Chair of the New Zealand Government Investment Taskforce. He is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Hazel Armstrong, BA/LLB, Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand Director
Hazel Armstrong was appointed a Director of Port of Auckland on 1 February 2021. Hazel is a partner in Armstrong Thompson, a law firm specialising in ACC, employment, and health and safety, where she works on behalf of workers and ACC claimants. She was previously a director of KiwiRail Holdings Limited. Hazel has acted as an expert witness in health and safety matters and been involved in inquiries into health and safety. 

Stephen Reindler, BE(Hons), AMP, FIPENZ, CFInstD  Director

Stephen is a professional director and mechanical engineer with extensive experience in heavy industry, large infrastructure, and workplace health and safety. Current directorships are Steel and Tube Holdings, Te Kaha Project Delivery Limited, Broome International Airport Group, and he is chair of Waste Disposal Services, Clearwater Construction, and D&H Steel Construction. Stephen also provides advisory  services to AgResearch, Lincoln University and Te Papa Museum of  New Zealand on infrastructure builds. He was previously on the boards of  Z Energy Limited, Port of Napier, Meridian Energy, Naylor Love, and WorkSafe NZ. He is a past President of the Institution of Professional Engineers.

Geoff Plunket, BCom, FCA (CAANZ)  Director 

Geoff is a professional director,  a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and a Member of the Institute of Directors. Geoff worked for Coopers & Lybrand (now PwC) and KPMG in Dunedin and the United Kingdom through the 1980s, before joining Port Otago Limited in 1988 as Chief Financial Officer. Geoff spent nearly three decades with the Port Otago Group, working across the business in a variety of roles, culminating as CEO in 2004, and retiring in 2017. He is currently Chair of Blis Technologies Limited. 


Andrew Flavell, BE(Hons), ME, Dr. Eng. – Director
Andrew Flavell was appointed a Director of Port of Auckland effective 1 June 2022. Andrew is currently an Independent Director of Steel and Tube, and the Chair of ASB Bank’s Technical  Advisory Group. Andrew has extensive international experience in Information Technology, having worked at Microsoft and Nike in senior technology roles, and as Chief Technology Officer at Laybuy and Plexure. He has experience in leading large teams, driving digital transformations, delivering compelling consumer experiences, personalisation and loyalty, privacy and security, AI and machine learning, and has contributed significantly to risk management and governance in the application of digital technologies in his career.   

Paul Chambers, BSc, CA (CAANZ), FCA (ICAEW)

Paul was appointed director effective 1 November 2023. Paul is the CFO and COO of Kiwibank and a Chartered Accountant.  He was previously CFO of Meridian Energy and has worked in Engineering Services, Ports, Fashion, and Manufacturing Industries in New Zealand, the UK and France.  He has wide experience in leading large teams with a focus on people and well-being, business transformation, operations, and strategy.

(not in picture above) 

Noel Coom

Noel commenced his directorship on 1 November 2023. Noel has completed more than 45 years direct involvement with shipping lines and the sea freight sector including senior shipping line postings in both USA and Australia. Public sector contributions include participation in both the Auckland Port Future study and the Upper North Island Supply Chain Study.

​ (not in picture above)​​