Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Our Board

Collectively, our Directors hold experience developed during successful careers in shipping, logistics, transport and management in New Zealand and abroad and have extensive experience at both executive and board levels. Meet our board:

POAL-Extras-June2022-101-3.jpg​​​​​Jan Dawson CNZM BCom FCA (ICANZ) FInstD - Chair

Jan Dawson was appointed as a Director and Chair in September 2021.

Jan is an experienced Director and Chair, whose previous roles include Chair of Westpac New Zealand Limited and Deputy Chair of Air New Zealand Limited.  She is currently a director of Meridian Energy Limited and Serko Limited. 

Jan is on the Council for the University of Auckland and the Capital Investment Committee of the Ministry of Health. Jan chairs the Audit and Risk Committee or People and Remuneration Committee for a number of these entities. She was the Chair and Chief Executive for KPMG New Zealand for five years until 2011, following a career spanning 30 years specialising in audit, consulting and accounting services in the United Kingdom, Canada and New Zealand.

Her previous board appointments also include AIG NZ Limited, Beca Limited and Goodman Fielder Ltd.  She was elected as a Vice President of World Sailing President for the four years ending in November 2020 and was the President and Board Chair of Yachting New Zealand for six years to October 2013.

Sarah Haydon BSc FCA (ICAEW) CFInstD - Director
Sarah was appointed a Director and Chair of the Audit Committee in August 2016. She is currently Chair of The Co-operative Bank Limited. She is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.​

Sarah has previously been Chair of Cavalier Corporation Limited, Deputy Chair of the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited and a Director of AsureQuality Limited. Her previous executive roles included Chief Financial Officer of OfficeMax New Zealand Limited and with British Petroleum plc.


Peter Chrisp - Director
Peter Chrisp is currently the Chief Executive of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, New Zealand's international business development agency. Prior to this, Peter spent 20 years in the engineering, manufacturing, and pulp and paper industries. Peter has international experience as Senior Vice President Norske Skog Global, based in Norway, and Australasian Regional President based in Sydney. 

Peter is the current Chair of NZ G2G Partnerships Ltd, a member of the New Zealand China Council, a member of Te Puna Whakaaronui (a NZ Food and Fibre think tank), was previously the Chair of the NZ Government Investment Taskforce. He is a member of the Institute of Directors. 

Hazel Armstrong - Director
Hazel Armstrong was appointed a Director of POAL on 1 February 2021. She is a partner in Armstrong Thompson which is a law firm specialising in ACC, employment, and health and safety, where she works on behalf of workers and ACC claimants. She has acted as an expert witness in health and safety matters and been involved in inquiries into health and safety.

Stephen Reindler ​- Director

Stephen is an Auckland based, professional director and mechanical engineer with extensive experience in heavy industry, large infrastructure, and workplace health and safety.

He holds several directorships, including, Steel and Tube Holdings, Christchurch Multi Use Arena Project Delivery, Broome International Airport Group, and is chair of Waste Disposal Services, Clearwater Construction and D&H Steel Construction. He also provides advisory services to AgResearch, and Lincoln University on infrastructure builds. He was previously on the boards of Z Energy Ltd (5 year), Port of Napier (8 years), Meridian Energy (10 years), Naylor Love (5 years), WorkSafe NZ (3 years), the advisory boards of Transfield Services and Glidepath, is a past President of the Institution of Professional Engineers NZ and was inaugural chair of Crown entity, The Chartered Professional Engineers Council.

Geoff Plunket - Director 

Geoff is a Professional Director and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Geoff worked for Coopers & Lybrand (now PWC) and KPMG, in Dunedin and Birmingham, UK through the 1980's before joining Port Otago Ltd in 1988, as Chief Financial Officer. Geoff spent the following 29 years with the Port Otago Group, working across the business in a variety of roles, culminating in appointment as CEO in 2004, before retiring in 2017. He is currently Chair of Blis Technologies Ltd.​

Andrew Flavell BE(Hons), ME, Dr. Eng. – Director
Dr Flavell was appointed a Director of Ports of Auckland effective 1 June 2022. He is currently an Independent Director of Steel and Tube, and the Chair of ASBBank's Technical Advisory Group.

Dr Flavell has extensive international experience in Information Technology, having worked Microsoft and Nike in senior technology roles, and as Chief Technology Officer at Laybuy and Plexure. He has a portfolio in leading large teams, driving digital transformations, delivering compelling consumer experiences, personalisation and loyalty, privacy and security, AI and machine learning, and has contributed significantly to risk management and governance in the application of digital technologies in his career. 

Future Directors

Ports of Auckland has appointed two future directors as part of the IOD Future Directors programme. This programme was started in 2013 and is about developing the next generation of directors and delivering new talent and fresh perspectives at board level. Good governance is a vital part of the success of New Zealand companies and to get good governance we need a strong and diverse talent pool of young directors. By hosting a Future Director we are playing our part in growing that talent pool and contributing to New Zealand's future success. 

Future Directors are not formally appointed to the board and as such hold no voting rights and do not contribute to the quorum. They are not part of the formal-decision making process, but are there to observe and participate in discussions.

Our first Future Director was Siobhan McKenna who worked with us from November 2017 to March 2019. 

Our second Future Director was Claire Neville who worked with us from March 2019 to April 2020.​