Relevant documents and publications

Port tours

We provide FREE public Boat Tours on the Waitematā Harbour, giving the public an opportunity to view our operations from the sea.

The hour-long tours take visitors alongside the container terminals where they can see the big cranes and other machinery at work. The tour boat weaves in and out of the commercial wharves, while an informative commentary explains how each area operates.


Port boat tours provide entertainment and learning opportunities for all ages.

Port boat tours provide entertainment & learning opportunities for all ages.

Bookings are essential. To enquire about available dates and reserve your place, head to 360 Discovery or telephone 360 Discovery on 09 307 8005

School-only tours can be booked via Voyager New Zealand Maritime Museum on +64 9 373 0800. Please note in order to avoid disappointment that school tours are tailored for Year 5 and above.

For group bookings (15 + people) please email 360 Discovery at

Please note that it may not be possible for us to accommodate large group bookings.

Due to safety reasons and Maritime law we can only accommodate a certain number of passengers per vessel. If you are unable to make your booked tour please inform 360 Discovery in advance so your place can be allocated to someone else.

Boarding takes place at Pier 4, Ferry Building, Quay Street, Auckland.

Boat tour schedule - 2015

Special Boat Tours - QM2 visit

Friday 20 March, 11.30am
Friday 20 March, 1.00pm
Saturday 21 March, 11.30am
Saturday 21 March, 1.00pm

Public tours

School group only tours

Tuesday 02 June, 11am
Tuesday 23 June, 11am
Tuesday 07 July, 11am - School Holidays
Tuesday 14 July, 11am - School Holidays
Tuesday 21 July, 11am
Tuesday 11 August, 11am
Tuesday 22 September, 11am
Tuesday 29 September, 11am - School Holidays
Tuesday 6 October, 11am - School Holidays
Tuesday 13 October, 11am
Tuesday 03 November, 11am
Tuesday 24 November, 11am
Tuesday 08 December, 11am - Last tour for 2015

Tuesday 09 June, 11am
Tuesday 16 June, 11am
Tuesday 30 June, 11am
Tuesday 28 July, 11am
Tuesday 04 August, 11am
Tuesday 18 August, 11am
Tuesday 25 August, 11am
Tuesday 01 September, 11am
Tuesday 08 September, 11am
Tuesday 15 September, 11am
Tuesday 20 October, 11am
Tuesday 27 October, 11am
Tuesday 10 November, 11am
Tuesday 17 November, 11am
Tuesday 01 December, 11am