Board of Directors

Piloting the company through the current challenging and changing times, Ports of Auckland’s Directors draw on in-depth knowledge developed during successful careers in shipping, logistics, transport, law and management in New Zealand and abroad, and extensive experience at both executive and board level.

Elizabeth Mary Coutts (Liz) BMS, CA

Mrs Coutts was appointed a Director in December 2010 and is also a Director of EBOS Group Limited, Skellerup Holdings Limited, Yellow Pages Group, Sanford Limited, Tennis Auckland Region Inc, and Chair of Oceania Healthcare Limited, Urwin and Co Limited and the IRD Risk and Assurance Committee. Mrs Coutts is Vice President and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand Inc.

She has previously been Chief Executive of Caxton Group, Chairman of Meritec Group Limited, Industrial Research Limited and Life Pharmacy Limited, Deputy Chairman of Public Trust, and a Commissioner of both the Commerce Commission and Earthquake Commission. She has been a Director of Ravensdown Fertiliser Cooperative, Health Funding Authority, PHARMAC, Air New Zealand, Sport and Recreation New Zealand and Trust Bank New Zealand, and a member of both the Financial Reporting Standards Board of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Monetary Policy Committee of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand.

Rodger Herbert Fisher
Deputy Chairman

Mr Fisher was appointed a Director in December 2013 and later Acting Chairman in July 2015. He was a Director of the Lyttelton Port Company from 2003 to 2013 and Chairman from 2007. He is currently Chairman of Ultra Fast Fibre Limited, Eurotech Group Limited, The Property Group Limited and a Director at Tenon Limited. He was Managing Director of Owens Group Limited from 1987 to 1999 and has previously been Chairman of WEL Networks, Civil Aviation Authority, Aviation Security Service and Auckland Blues.

Mr Fisher is an Accredited Director and Fellow of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Secretaries New Zealand, a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in New Zealand.

Andrew Bonner BA (Hons)
Mr Bonner became a Director in December 2009. He is also a Director of Marlborough Wines Limited. Mr Bonner was formerly an executive with Fosters Group Limited where he ran the import arm of the Fosters business in Australia, was Managing Director of Fosters Group New Zealand and also Managing Director and Chairman of Fosters Group Pacific Limited in Fiji . He is currently a founding partner in an export focused wine business and an independent director of the West Auckland Licensing Trust.

Wayne Walden ONZM

Wayne is an experienced Company Director, and was previously Managing Director and shareholder of Farmers/Deka Ltd. He has had more than 30 years senior management experience in the liquor, wholesale and retail trades in New Zealand.

Wayne’s past directorships include, Director of Farmlands Co-Operative Society, Director of the Westpac Bank NZ Advisory Board, Deputy Chairman of Meat New Zealand, Director of Mighty River Power Limited, Chairman of Tranz Rail, Chair of Maori Television and TVNZ. Wayne was also a member of the Board of the Auckland Transition Agency.

Patrick Nesbit Snedden BCom, BA

Mr Snedden was appointed a Director in April 2012. He has a background in corporate governance most recently as chair of both Housing NZ and the H obsonville Land Company Ltd and chair of Auckland District Health Board. He was a founding director of Mai FM Ltd and is a Chief Crown Negotiator in Treaty Settlements for the Far North and in the Hawkes Bay/Wairoa District. He is currently Executive Chair of the Manaiakalani Education Trust bringing digital access to low decile schooling communities in New Zealand.

Jonathan Irving Mayson MBA, CNZM

Mr Mayson was appointed a Director in October 2014. He has been a company Director for 8 years, having been CEO of the Port of Tauranga Limited from 1997 to 2005. He was honoured for his services to the shipping industry and the export sector in 2006 when he was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Mr Mayson was Chair of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise from 2008 to 2012, is currently Chairman of several companies including Scales Corporation Limited, Fronde Systems Group Limited, C3 Limited and Martin Aircraft Company Limited. He is a Director of Te Arawa Group Holdings Limited and The Chiefs.